Career Research Paper
Joe Notarangelo: English 101
This page offers a variety of library database and online searches for information on careers.
OneSearch
Search most of the SBVC databases at once.
Put key terms into the OneSearch box (for example, engineer and career, animator and career, nurse and career).
On the results page, use the filters on the left to narrow your research.
Go to our Research Instructions & Videos page for more information about searching.
Government Websites
-
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, "The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a career resource offering information on the hundreds of occupations that provide most of jobs in the United States. Each occupational profile describes the typical duties performed by the occupation, the work environment of that occupation, the typical education and training needed to enter the occupation, the median pay for workers in the occupation, and the job outlook over the coming decade for that occupation. Each profile is in a standard format that makes it easy to compare occupations, such as by projected employment change.
-
Occupational Outlook Handbook, Field of DegreeField of degree (FOD) pages highlight data and information from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and the U.S. Census Bureau for a variety of academic fields. Each FOD page provides a glimpse of workers with the degree and shows occupations, outlook, and more for people in that major. Click on an FOD link to explore this information, which includes links to relevant profiles in the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
-
O*NET OnLine
O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more! From the U.S. Department of Labor
-
My Next MoveWhat do you want to do for a living? Search careers with keywords, browse careers by industry, answer career questions and receive suggestions. From the U.S. Department of Labor
-
Virtual Student Federal Service
The Virtual Student Federal Service (VSFS) unpaid virtual internship program was created by the U.S. Department of State to connect the energy and excellence of students to their government.
SBVC Career Coach
SBVC Career Data and Information
Visit the SBVC website for your current major or program: Career & Academic Pathways. Use the Career Coach widget for regional and national data.
Find career data and information on Career Coach: take a career assessment, browse careers by industry, and browse SBVC's programs.
Be sure to visit the program you're in! SBVC programs and majors.
CCC Find Your Future
Check out what the California Community Colleges have to offer. Explore career paths, take a career quiz, and find programs at community colleges throughout California.
Credo Reference: Background Information
Search Credo for
- research topics
- background information
- definitions and encyclopedia articles
Click on Credo, below, and sign in at the top.
Sign in for full access
-
Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides "background information to start your research" with over 11,300 topics across subjects and disciplines. Credo provides articles and images from discipline-specific reference sources, including mind maps to help find related topics and keywords.
Careers in... Ebooks
For a list of books and ebook on different careers: OneSearch results for Careers in ...
- 2014-2024
- Available Online
- Books
Career eBooks
Career Library Books
Searching US Newsstream
ProQuest
The links below lead to different ProQuest newspaper searches. You can search all newspapers at once, only the major dailies, or only Ethnic NewsWatch.
- When viewing your results, use the left-hand menu to filter by type, date, and other criteria.
- Click on the article title to read the article.
- Use the buttons in the top right to cite, email, or save the article. Be careful to proofread and format citations!
US Newsstream: U.S. National and Regional Newspapers
Major Dailies: The New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune
Ethnic NewsWatch: academic articles, newspapers, magazines, and more
Online Career Resources
Reliable Websites for Career Information
National or state professional associations
National or state licensing agencies
Colleges or universities with related degrees
Targeted Google Search
Save Time: Using the SBVC Library databases and resources can save you time! Unlike the open Internet, our sources are not selling you products or trying to collect personal information. The Library ebooks, articles and other materials are from reliable sources!
Limit the Search: Internet websites ending with a .gov (government) or .edu (educational) are usually a good bet to use for information! Here's an example: prison reform site:.gov or prison reform site:.edu
Learn more about refining your Google searches at Google Search Help, Refine Web Searches.
Better Results: Use Google Advanced Search to further target your Google search!