Library Books and Journals
-
Ethnic Studies Journals
Peer-reviewed journals in African-American/Black/Africana Studies, American Indian/Native American Studies, Asian-American Studies, and Hispanic-American Studies.
-
Ethnic Studies Print Book Collection
Collection housing resources that examine the histories, cultures, struggles, and contributions to American society by historically marginalized groups in the United States. These works may also explore race and ethnicity in various social, cultural, historical, political and economic contexts.
Databases
-
ProQuest Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
-
Black Freedom Struggle - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Open-access primary source documents, including historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence, and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom.
-
EBSCO - All Databases This link opens in a new window
-
ProQuest - All Databases This link opens in a new window
The ebooks below are a small sample of general Ethnic Studies ebooks.
There are many more books to explore in our collections
Film and Video
Kanopy Films & Collections
-
Agents of Change
Current struggles to make colleges welcoming and relevant for students of color continue movements which swept across campuses fifty years ago. Agents of Change tells the timely and inspiring story of how successful protests for equity and inclusion led to establishing the first Black and Ethnic Studies departments at two very different universities: San Francisco State (1968) and Cornell (1969).
Alexander Street Academic Video Online (AVON)
-
On Strike! Ethnic Studies 1969-1999
Through interviews with past and recent student leaders and faculty juxtaposed with footage of campus demonstrations over the course of a generation, On Strike offers a historical and political overview of what it took to establish and sustain ethnic studies at one of the nation's leading universities.
Visit the Film and Video Research Guide for more information on our film and video databases.
Ethnic Studies eBooks
