Practical AI for Students and Faculty
Resources on AI
-
Algorithms, Humans, and Interactions
by
Call Number: Q335 .S475 2023Publication Date: 2023-01-31Amidst the rampant use of algorithmization enabled by AI, the common theme of AI systems is the human factor. Humans play an essential role in designing, developing, and operationalizing AI systems. We have a remit to warrant those systems run transparently, perform equitably, value our privacy, and effectively fulfill human needs. This book takes an interdisciplinary approach to contribute to the ongoing development of human-AI interaction with a particular focus on the "human" dimension and provides insights to improve the design of AI that could be genuinely beneficial and effectively used in society. -
Algorithms for the People
by
Call Number: Q335 .S56 2023Publication Date: 2023-01-10Artificial intelligence and machine learning are reshaping our world. Police forces use them to decide where to send police officers, judges to decide whom to release on bail, welfare agencies to decide which children are at risk of abuse, and Facebook and Google to rank content and distribute ads. In these spheres, and many others, powerful prediction tools are changing how decisions are made, narrowing opportunities for the exercise of judgment, empathy, and creativity. In this volume, Simons flips the narrative about how we govern these technologies. Instead of examining the impact of technology on democracy, he explores how to put democracy at the heart of AI governance. -
Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Humanity
by
Call Number: Q335.4 .A235 2023Publication Date: 2022-07-30Anthology of diverse viewpoints exploring developments in artificial intelligence, predictions for the technology's future, and the impact it will have on life as we know it. -
The Digital Mindset
by
Call Number: HD45 .L434 2022Publication Date: 2022-05-10The digital revolution is here. It's changing how work gets done, how industries are structured, and how people from all walks of life work, behave, and relate to each other. To thrive in a world driven by data and powered by algorithms, we must learn to see, think, and act in new ways. We need to develop a digital mindset. -
Ethics of Artificial Intelligence
by
Call Number: Q334.7 .E84 2020Publication Date: 2020-09-01Featuring seventeen original essays on the ethics of Artificial Intelligence (AI) by some of the most prominent AI scientists and academic philosophers today, this volume represents the state-of-the-art thinking in this fast-growing field and highlights some of the central themes in AI and morality such as how to build ethics into AI, how to address mass unemployment as a result of automation, how to avoiding designing AI systems that perpetuate existing biases, and how to determine whether an AI is conscious. -
Media Literacy for Justice
by
Call Number: LB1590.3 .D4 2022Publication Date: 2022-02-07Featuring reflective activities and lesson ideas that can be adapted for educational settings from higher education to the K-12 spectrum, community centers, and libraries, this resource presents ten chapters that explore such timely issues as how to deal with controversial topics in the classroom, the effects of misinformation/disinformation on civics in society, why the media underrepresents certain people in their programming, the digital divide and where libraries fit in, how injustice exacerbates public health issues, and global conceptions of social justice and media literacy examined through various world events. -
Social Media and Political Communication
by
Call Number: JA85 .L56 2023Publication Date: 2022-10-01This book offers a wide-scale, interdisciplinary analysis and guide to social media and political communication, examining the political use of social media platforms such as Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and TikTok. From disinformation to artificial intelligence, Jeremy Lipschultz explores how social media tools are being deployed by 'good' and 'bad' political actors. The use of 'fake news' or disinformation is clearly contextualized for readers within a wider understanding of the historic uses of propaganda, persuasion and political advertising. -
Unmasking AI
by
Call Number: Q334.7 .B86 2023Publication Date: 2023-10-31To most of us, it seems like recent developments in artificial intelligence emerged out of nowhere to pose unprecedented threats to humankind. But to Dr. Joy Buolamwini, who has been at the forefront of AI research, this moment has been a long time in the making. In 'Unmasking AI,' Buolamwini explains how we've arrived at an era of AI harms and oppression, and what we can do to avoid its pitfalls. -
Who Wrote This?
by
Call Number: PN171.T43 B37 2023Publication Date: 2023-09-12Would you read this book if a computer wrote it? Would you even know? And why would it matter? Today's eerily impressive artificial intelligence writing tools present us with a crucial challenge: As writers, do we unthinkingly adopt AI's time-saving advantages or do we stop to weigh what we gain and lose when heeding their siren call? To understand how AI is redefining what it means to write and think, linguist and educator Naomi Baron leads us on a journey connecting the dots between human literacy and today's technology.
-
Archives, Access and Artificial Intelligence
by
Call Number: JSTOR Books Open AccessPublication Date: 2022-04-27Digital archives are transforming the Humanities and the Sciences. Digitised collections of newspapers and books have pushed scholars to develop new, data-rich methods. Born-digital archives are now better preserved and managed thanks to the development of open-access and commercial software. -
Artificial Intelligence
by
Call Number: Ebook Central Academic CompletePublication Date: 2020-03-17Proceedings of the 2019 International Conference on Artificial Intelligence (ICAI'19) held July 29th - August 1st, 2019 in Las Vegas, Nevada. -
Artificial Intelligence: Models, Algorithms and Applications
by
Call Number: EBSCOhost eBooksPublication Date: 2021-05-31Artificial Intelligence: Models, Algorithms and Applications presents focused information about applications of artificial intelligence (AI) in different areas to solve complex problems. The book presents 8 chapters that demonstrate AI based systems for vessel tracking, mental health assessment, radiology, instrumentation, business intelligence, education and criminology. -
Artificial Intelligence in Practice
by
Call Number: Ebook Central Academic CompletePublication Date: 2019-05-28Cyber-solutions to real-world business problems Artificial Intelligence in Practice is a fascinating look into how companies use AI and machine learning to solve problems. Presenting 50 case studies of actual situations, this book demonstrates practical applications to issues faced by businesses around the globe.
Open Access
-
AI for Everyone? Critical PerspectivesWe are entering a new era of technological determinism and solutionism in which governments and business actors are seeking data-driven change, assuming that Artificial Intelligence is now inevitable and ubiquitous. But we have not even started asking the right questions, let alone developed an understanding of the consequences. Urgently needed is debate that asks and answers fundamental questions about power. This book brings together critical interrogations of what constitutes AI, its impact and its inequalities in order to offer an analysis of what it means for AI to deliver benefits for everyone.
-
Artificial Intelligence for a Better FutureThis open access book proposes a novel approach to Artificial Intelligence (AI) ethics. AI offers many advantages: better and faster medical diagnoses, improved business processes and efficiency, and the automation of boring work. But undesirable and ethically problematic consequences are possible too: biases and discrimination, breaches of privacy and security, and societal distortions such as unemployment, economic exploitation and weakened democratic processes.
-
The Democratization of Artificial Intelligence Net Politics in the Era of Learning AlgorithmsRecent advances in the field of Artifical Neural Networks have led to a renaissance of dystopian and utopian speculations on an AI-rendered future. Algorithmic technologies are deployed for identifying potential terrorists through vast surveillance networks, for producing sentencing guidelines and recidivism risk profiles in criminal justice systems, for demographic and psychographic targeting of bodies for advertising or propaganda, and more generally for automating the analysis of language, text, and images. Against this background, the aim of this book is to discuss the heterogenous conditions, implications, and effects of modern AI and Internet technologies in terms of their political dimension: What does it mean to critically investigate efforts of net politics in the age of machine learning algorithms?
-
Generative AI in Higher Education The ChatGPT EffectSince November 2022, every conversation in higher education has involved ChatGPT
and its impact on all aspects of teaching and learning. The book explores the necessity of
AI literacy tailored to professional contexts, assess the strengths and weaknesses of incorporating ChatGPT in curriculum design, and delve into the transformation of assessment methods in the GenAI era. -
Women in Artificial intelligence (AI)This Special Issue, entitled "Women in Artificial Intelligence" includes 17 papers from leading women scientists. The papers cover a broad scope of research areas within Artificial Intelligence, including machine learning, perception, reasoning or planning, among others. The papers have applications to relevant fields, such as human health, finance, or education. It is worth noting that the Issue includes three papers that deal with different aspects of gender bias in Artificial Intelligence.
-
Reference Shelf: New Developments in Artificial Intelligence
by
Call Number: Q335 .N487 2024Publication Date: 2024-05-31Explores the current era in AI technology and the debate about how this emerging technology is changing, and potentially threatening, many familiar parts of human life.
-
Academic Search Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides "background information to start your research" with over 11,300 topics across subjects and disciplines. Credo provides articles and images from discipline-specific reference sources, including mind maps to help find related topics and keywords.
-
Education Research Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides full text for more than 1,200 journals and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
-
US Major Dailies - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
-
Artificial intelligence from The Columbia Encyclopedia(AI), the use of computers to model the behavioral aspects of human reasoning and learning. Research in AI is concentrated in some half-dozen areas.
-
Artificial intelligence in higher education: exploring faculty use, self-efficacy, distinct profiles, and professional development needsFaculty perspectives on the use of artificial intelligence (AI) in higher education are crucial for AI’s meaningful integration into teaching and learning, yet research is scarce. This paper presents a study designed to gain insight into faculty members’ (N = 122) AI self-efficacy and distinct latent profiles, perceived benefits, challenges, use, and professional development needs related to AI.
-
Did a Bot Do Your Work? Teaching AI Literacy Skills.The article offers information on integrating AI generative technology into education to enhance productivity, focusing on AI literacy for K–12 students. Topics include the background on AI, the potential and pitfalls of generative AI like ChatGPT, and introducing AI concepts to students. AI, evolving since the 1950s, has become integral in daily life, and generative AI has the transformative potential to revolutionize education.
-
Establishing AI Literacy before Adopting AI.ith the recent explosion of AI applications in our everyday lives, it is critical for teachers and students to become AI literate, that is, to understand the role of AI in our lives, to evaluate its pros and cons, and to use it productively. We describe a set of short-format, modular AI literacy curricula developed by Massachusetts Institute of Technology in collaboration with an implementation partner, i2Learning, to help educators introduce their students to AI and its responsible and ethical use. We used an online questionnaire to collect data from 265 individuals across the globe on how the curricula were implemented in 2022–23, including 190 teachers who collectively implemented the curricula with almost 12,000 students. Teachers reported an increase in their knowledge of AI concepts, an increase in optimism about the potential benefits of AI to society, and greater confidence in their ability to contribute to the future of AI. Similar results were reported for students. We also conducted 17 virtual interviews with teachers to elicit feedback on the curricula and to better understand how they adapted the curricula for their own contexts.
-
Evaluating AI Literacy in Academic Libraries: A Survey Study with a Focus on U.S. Employees.This survey investigates artificial intelligence (AI) literacy among academic library employees, predominantly in the United States, with a total of 760 respondents. The findings reveal a modest self-rated understanding of AI concepts, limited hands-on experience with AI tools, and notable gaps in discussing ethical implications and collaborating on AI projects. Despite recognizing the benefits, readiness for implementation appears low among participants. Respondents emphasize the need for comprehensive training and the establishment of ethical guidelines. The study proposes a framework defining core components of AI literacy tailored for libraries. The results offer insights to guide professional development and policy formulation as libraries increasingly integrate AI into their services and operations.
-
Artificial intelligenceTed Talks. Computers are being taught to learn, reason and recognize emotions. In these talks, look for insights -- as well as warnings.
-
How ChatGPT actually worksSince its release, the public has been playing with ChatGPT and seeing what it can do, but how does ChatGPT actually work? While the details of its inner workings have not been published, we can piece together its functioning principles from recent research.
-
What Is ChatGPT Doing … and Why Does It Work?That ChatGPT can automatically generate something that reads even superficially like human-written text is remarkable, and unexpected. But how does it do it? And why does it work?
-
Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Teaching and LearningArtificial Intelligence and the Future of Teaching and Learning Insights and Recommendations
May 2023 -
Blueprint for an AI Bill of RightsThe Blueprint for an AI Bill of Rights is a set of five principles and associated practices to help guide the design, use, and deployment of automated systems to protect the rights of the American public in the age of artificial intelligence.
-
Embracing Creativity: How AI Can Enhance the Creative ProcessThe emergence of artificial intelligence (AI) has brought a new dimension to the creative process, allowing artists to explore uncharted territories and push the boundaries of their imagination. This blog post delves into how AI can become a powerful ally for artists, provides a generalized method for artists wanting to incorporate AI into their creative work, and illustrates the method with a concrete case study.