MLA Works Cited Page
What is a Works Cited Page?
Whereas the in-text citation is a small snippet of information, each Works Cited entry contains the rest of that bibliographic information. The works cited page is it's very own page, at the end of your paper, and it will include one citation entry per outside source that you use. So, if you used three outside sources, you'd have three citation entries on your Works Cited page. Each Works Cited entry is going to be different depending on the source you are citing.
I'm Citing A. . .
1. Author last name, first name.
2. "Title of Page, Section, or Document."
3. Website title,
4. Date published
5. URL.
Example
Weitkeamp, Margaret. "How Star Wars Revolutionized Entertainment." National Air and Space Museum, 19 Dec. 2019,
https://airandspace.si.edu/stories/editorial/how-star-wars-revolutionized-entertainment.
1. Author last name, first name.
2. "Title of the Article."
3. Title of the Journal
4. vol. #,
5. no. #, Note: If there is no additional number after the volume, only include the volume number.
6. Publication date,
7. pp. xxx-xxx.
If accessed online or in a library database...
· Database, Note: Use italics for names of databases.
· URL or permalink.
Example
Koushik, Kailash, and Abigail Reed. "Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Beauty and the Beast, and Disney’s Commodification of Feminism: A Political
Economic Analysis." Social Sciences, vol. 7, no. 11, 2018. ProQuest, https://doi.org/10.3390/socsci7110237.
1. Author last name, first name.
2. Title of the Book.
3. Edition Note: If there are multiple editions, use the format 1st/2nd/3rd ed.,
4. Publisher,
5. Publication date.
Example
Stover, Matthew. Star Wars, Episode III: Revenge of the Sith. Lucas Books/Del Rey, 2005.
1. Author last name, first name.
2. Title of the Book
3. Editors Note: If there is one editor, use the format edited by Last Name, First Name. If there are multiple editors, use and before the last author's name.
4. Publisher,
5. Publication date.
6. Database, Note: Use italics for names of databases.
7. URL or permalink.
Example
Brode, Douglas, and Leah Deyneka. Myth, Media, and Culture in Star Wars an Anthology. Scarecrow Press, 2012, ProQuest Ebook Central,
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/valleycollege/detail.action?docID=950436.
1. Author(s) of the Chapter. Note: Use the format Last Name, First Name Middle Name or Initial (if any). If there are multiple authors, use and before the last author's name.
2. "Title of the Chapter."
3. Title of the book.
4. Editors Note: If there is one editor, use the format edited by First Name Middle Name or Initial (if any) Last Name. If there are multiple editors, use and before the last author's name.
5. Publisher,
6. Publication date,
7. pp. xxx-xxx.
8. Database, Note: Use italics for names of databases.
9. URL or permalink.
Example
Van Parys, Thomas. “Another Canon, Another Time: The Novelizations of the Star Wars Films.” Star Wars and the History of Transmedia
Storytelling, edited by Sean Guynes and Dan Hassler-Forest, Amsterdam University Press, 2018, pp. 73–86. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307
/j.ctt207g5dd.9 Accessed 5 Oct. 2023.