MAS Ultra--School Edition and other database links
EBSCO) MAS Ultra -- School Edition is designed specifically for high school libraries and contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines; more than 360 full-text reference books; 85,670 biographies; over 107,000 primary source documents; over 510,000 photos, maps and flags; color PDFs; and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
-
Academic Search Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
-
MasterFILE Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Complete provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications dating back to 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as over 502,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Find Background Articles
Start with these databases for background articles on Child Development.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowUse this database to search such topics such as,
Children and Nutrition. Credo also gives you other
topics you may search using the Mind Map feature. -
SIRS Issues Researcher - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher provides authoritative insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected by trained editors and curated from over 2,000 global sources.
eBooks
-
eBook Academic Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
The eBook Academic Collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
-
eBook Community College Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
The eBook Community College Collection focuses on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges. This multidisciplinary collection covers topics across programs and fields of study as well as key subject areas such as the Humanities and Social Sciences, Business, Science & Technology, and Literary Criticism. The complexity of the information available in this collection varies from introductory to higher-level content.
-
Nutrition in Pediatrics
by
ISBN: 9781607951803Publication Date: 2016-03-01The field of pediatric nutrition has developed into an area essential to the components of academic pediatric programs throughout the world. Fundamental aspects of health and disease are strongly related to the'nutritional environment'(nutritional status and dietary intake). Nutrition in Pediatrics, 5th edition provides a comprehensive and accessible approach to pediatric nutrition.The 5th edition continues the expansion of the section on pediatric obesity: epidemiology, pathophysiology, assessment and treatment. It includes new chapters on celiac disease, food allergies, and iron. -
Physical Activity, Fitness, Nutrition and Obesity During Growth
by
ISBN: 9781608059478Publication Date: 2015-09-30An imbalance between high energy intake – due to inadequate diet – and reduced energy expenditure – caused by sedentary habits – is believed to create an inherent risk of obesity among individuals. Lifestyle changes among preschool children coupled with health problems (cardiovascular, metabolic, orthopedic, psychological etc.) correlate to an observed increase in body mass index and may even predispose growing children towards obesity in their adult life.
Newspaper and Magazine Articles
-
U.S. Newsstream and Ethnic NewsWatch - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
-
Newspaper Source Plus - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Film and Video
-
Alexander Street (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street's Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Example of a Video Available:
ABCs of Pediatric Feeding and Swallowing: The systems 11 & 12
This seminar focuses on the physiological systems as they relate to feeding and swallowing issues. Emphasis is placed on the respiratory system, gastrointestinal system, musculoskeletal system, sensory systems including vestibular, vision and somatosensory as well as the influences of nutrition and medications on feeding and swallowing function.
Library Books
-
Food, Nutrition, and the Young Child
by
Call Number: RJ206 .E63 2004ISBN: 013098485XPublication Date: 2003-12-09Great attention is given to food and nutrition problems seen in young children, and strategies are provided for parents in fostering good eating habits. -
Up, down, Move Around
by
Call Number: LB1140.5 H4 M53 2013ISBN: 0876594712Publication Date: 2013-07-01Activities like Healthy Food Obstacle Course and Bendy Bodies Stretch help young children learn nutrition and health concepts as they develop fine and gross motor skills.
