Background and Pro-Con Articles
These are visual, easy-to-use databases that help you find topics, background information, reference articles, and pro-con analyses.
Below, go directly to the database homepages for research topic ideas or to search.
To email, save, and cite the articles, look for links and icons at the top right-hand side of the article pages.
Credo Reference: Background Information
Search Credo for
- research topics
- background information
- definitions and encyclopedia articles
Click on Credo, below, and sign in at the top.
Sign in for full access
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides "background information to start your research" with over 11,300 topics across subjects and disciplines. Credo provides articles and images from discipline-specific reference sources, including mind maps to help find related topics and keywords.
SIRS Issues Researcher: Pro-Con
Search SIRS Issue Researcher for
- research topics
- pro-con articles and analysis
- current and controversial issues
- SIRS Issue Researcher
SIRS Issues Researcher provides authoritative insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected by trained editors and curated from over 2,000 global sources.
Points of View Reference Center: Current Issues
Search Points of View for
- research topics
- pro-con articles and analysis
- current and controversial issues
Click on Points of View, below, and sign in.
Sign in for full access.
- Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO)
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database that provides a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.